Indonesia’s citizens in U.S. cast votes on Saturday

pemilukada acehIndonesian citizens living in the United States (U.S.), along with the Indonesian Ambassador, Budi Bowoleksono and his wife Reshanty Bowoleksono cast votes on Saturday (April 5) for legislative general elections.

The votes cast took place at TPS-2 (polling station) located at the Garuda hall of the Indonesian Embassy in Washington DC, according to the embassys press release received here on Sunday.

Of the total 1,974 constituents, 1.666 cast their votes in the polling booths, while another 313 constituents sent their votes through postal line.

In addition, the ambassador expressed his appreciation to 11 observers in the U.S., who watched the vote casting process that took place from 10.15 a.m. till 8.0 p.m. local time.

The vote count, according to the press release, will be conducted on April 9, 2014 at 5.0 p.m., while the counting for the vote casting process through postal line will be held on April 15.

Ambassador Budi Bowoleksono was inaugurated by President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono in Jakarta on February 14, 2014 to replace Dino Patti Djalal, who resigned and is now participating in the Democrat Partys presidential candidate convention.

In Indonesia, the legislative elections will take place on April 9 and presidential elections on July 9, 2014.

This year, the General Election Commission (KPU) had held 15 political parties in Indonesia as eligible to participate in the elections.

Three of them are local parties for the Aceh electorate, including the Aceh Party (Partai Aceh-PA), the Aceh National Party (Partai Nasional Aceh-PNA) and the Aceh Sovereignty Party (Partai Daulat Aceh-PDA).

The other 12 parties are the National Democratic Party (Nasdem), the Nations Awakening Party (PKB), the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), the Indonesian Democratic Party Struggle (PDIP), the Golkar Party (Golkar) and the Great Indonesia Movement (Gerindra).

Also included in the line-up are the Democratic Party (Demokrat), the National Mandate Party (PAN), the United Development Party (PPP), the Peoples Conscience Party (Hanura), the Crescent and Star Party (PBB) and the Indonesian Justice and Unity Party (PKPI).[]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *